Medical cannabis is an invaluable substance for many patients. It vastly improves the quality of life and daily function for individuals experiencing an array of chronic and debilitating conditions.
A ballot initiative and resulting amendment to the state constitution made medical marijuana legal in Missouri in 2018. The government assembled the Missouri Medical Marijuana Program to distribute it over the next two years. Medical marijuana sales began in October of 2020.
Today, potential medical marijuana patients with a qualifying condition must obtain certification for medical marijuana from a physician, register with the Department of Health and Senior Services (DHSS) and the Missouri Department of Health, and apply for a card that allows them to purchase and possess four ounces of dry marijuana or its equivalent in other forms.
The application process is straightforward and can be completed online through the DHSS website. Once approved, new patients can legally obtain medical marijuana from a licensed dispensary.
Read on to learn more about the patient application and obtaining a Missouri medical marijuana card.
According to Missouri law, individuals who meet the requirements for medical cannabis use can only use medicinal marijuana in settings where they don’t anticipate being seen by others. Schools, shops, walkways, parks, and any other property accessible to the general public are all regarded by the state as public areas.
Businesses and landlords have the authority to impose rules prohibiting marijuana use on their property. Before using marijuana in your rental house or apartment, carefully review the conditions of your contract.
Missouri Cannabis DUI Laws All Missouri DUI statutes apply in full to medical marijuana users. Using marijuana while intoxicated is illegal when operating a motor vehicle, airplane, or watercraft. A medical card cannot be used as a defense against a DUI.
DUIs are Class B misdemeanors that result in a mandatory 30-day license suspension for first-time offenders. First offenses may potentially result in a jail sentence of up to six months or the need to complete a drug treatment program for traffic offenders. Increased minimum fines are imposed for subsequent DUI offenses.
First, you must undergo an evaluation by an active and licensed Missouri physician. If they decide you will benefit from medical marijuana, they will complete a Physician Certification Form confirming your eligibility with the state.
This form is electronic and will be sent directly to the DHSS. If you’re seeking the standard four doses per month, you’ll need one Physician Certification Form. If your physician says that you need a higher dosage, you’ll need two Physician Certification Forms completed by different physicians for the same qualifying condition.
If the patient receiving medical marijuana is under 18, a Parent/Legal Guardian Consent Form will also need to be completed electronically. Patients with a qualifying caregiver who will obtain their marijuana for them must complete a Patient Authorization Form.
This registration and application process must be completed within 30 days of obtaining physician’s certification.
Once your forms are submitted by the physician, you’ll need to register online through Missouri’s DHSS portal. Be sure to select the correct registration (patient/caregiver). Your electronic Physician Certification Form will already be linked to your new account.
Once you or your caregiver account is registered, you’ll need to complete an application through the online portal. The DHSS will then process the application within 30 days. Missouri does not accept paper or in-person applications.
There is no age requirement to obtain medical marijuana in Missouri. However, patients under 18 must register and have a parent or legal guardian register as their caregiver. Missouri only grants medical marijuana cards to its own state residents.
Missouri residents or their primary caregivers must also provide a copy of a photo ID or other identification card, such as a driver’s license. Finally, Missouri patients and caregivers need to provide proof of residency as part of their applications.
The applicant is not required to provide DHSS with any medical records or medical history to obtain a card. That being said, the certifying medical marijuana doctor may require some documentation.
The Physician Certification Form they submit on your behalf must include your demographic information, the physician’s information, your qualifying medical condition, the physician’s attestation, the physician’s signature, and the date.
Any Medical Doctor (MD) or Doctor of Osteopathy (DO) licensed in the state of Missouri and currently in good standing can complete the certification. All physicians who meet the criteria are allowed to prescribe medical marijuana.
The physician must be registered with DHSS so they can submit the form electronically.
Missouri providers are not required to certify patients for medical marijuana. If your physician does not certify you, you may ask for a referral to another provider who might reach a different conclusion.
In Missouri, there are more than 150 approved medical cannabis shops as of August 2022. Only marijuana purchased from a dispensary is permissible to own and use. All sites in the state are listed by the Department of Health and Senior Services.
You may order from several dispensaries online and pick it up in person. Additionally, you may get medicinal marijuana delivered to you.
Some of the best dispensaries in Missouri include:
The total cost to the state for a medical marijuana card is $25.94 for patients and caregivers. Your physician will charge you separately for your consultation with them.
A caregiver is an individual at least 21 years old who manages the well-being and care of the minor seeking medical marijuana. The individual using medical marijuana and the caregiver must each register with the state and obtain a card. Caregivers can purchase and possess marijuana on behalf of qualified patients.
One patient can have up to two caregivers. An individual may only serve as a caregiver for a maximum of three qualified patients.
No–health insurers do not currently cover the certification process for medical marijuana. Despite state law, medical marijuana remains federally prohibited.
Patient and caregiver cards are valid for one year. Individuals must complete an application to renew their cards each year and pay the requisite application fees before their current cards expire.
You can begin the renewal process within 60 days of your current card’s expiration date.
Missouri began selling medicinal marijuana for an array of chronic conditions in 2020. Patients with debilitating, chronic, or terminal conditions can improve their quality of life with marijuana.
Registration for a card allows you to purchase the equivalent of four ounces of marijuana every thirty days. The registration process is completed online and requires an electronic certification from a state-licensed physician.
Both patients and caregivers can legally purchase and possess marijuana from any licensed state dispensary for the patient’s personal use.
Don’t forget to refer back to this article when you decide to submit an application to the state of Missouri, and good luck!