In Minnesota, cannabis is only legally available and usable with a medical marijuana card. Although non-medical THC is still illegal, the state legislature is currently navigating gaps in recent legislation.
Although the Minnesota Department of Health has some of the strictest marijuana regulations in the country, getting your card is still easy and worthwhile. You can use a variety of cannabis products to treat any qualifying medical condition that affects your quality of life and is state-recognized.
Patients have access to high-quality, carefully regulated products. The regulatory bodies make sure THC-infused goods are made from plants that are grown safely and have therapeutically useful THC concentrations.
In the 1990s, proponents launched their medical marijuana campaigns. Interest in the therapy increased as cannabis therapy became available nationwide and patients reported success. The Minnesota Medical Marijuana Act finally succeeded in passing and becoming law in 2014 after several failed attempts.
The original legislation permitted very specific forms of cannabis to treat conditions like Crohn’s disease, severe epilepsy, HIV/AIDS, glaucoma, Tourette’s syndrome, and ALS. The production, manufacturing, and distribution of medical marijuana are all subject to strict state regulation.
Medical cannabis sales started in June 2015, and patients with illnesses like HIV/AIDS, ALS, chronic pain, intractable pain, severe vomiting, sleep apnea, multiple sclerosis, severe wasting, muscle spasms, cachexia, and terminal illnesses embraced it. The state has increased the number of conditions that qualify as well as the types of cannabis it offers as understanding of cannabis’ efficacy has improved.
The state legalized dried raw marijuana in May 2021, opening the door for patients to smoke medical marijuana. The government also expanded its list of permitted goods in March 2022 to include edibles containing up to 10 mg of THC.
If you have a medical marijuana card, you are allowed to keep up to 2.5 ounces of medical cannabis flower for every 14-day period or a 30-day supply of non-inhalable cannabis. With your card, you can only possess medical cannabis products that have been purchased from an authorized dispensary.
Despite the fact that the state decriminalized small amounts of non-medical cannabis, having more than 42.5 grams of the drug is still a felony that carries fines and/or jail time.
As a cardholder, you are permitted to use marijuana on private property in Minnesota. Where tobacco smoking is prohibited or where a child could inhale the smoke or vapor, medical cannabis cannot be smoked.
In addition, you cannot possess or use medical cannabis:
Owners of real estate, including landlords, have the right to forbid the use of medical cannabis on their properties.
Marijuana use while driving is prohibited in Minnesota. According to Minnesota law, if police believe a driver is under the influence of drugs, they are permitted to make an arrest. Driving a car while high is not permitted.
Initial drugged driving arrests are misdemeanor offenses that carry a maximum 90-day jail sentence, a maximum $1,000 fine, and a potential license suspension. With each subsequent offense, the penalties become harsher.
To apply for a medical marijuana card, which can only be done online, you must have an email address. You must first go through an examination with a Minnesota-licensed doctor, physician’s assistant, or nurse practitioner. If you meet the criteria for medical marijuana, they’ll evaluate your eligibility and issue an electronic certification.
The Office of Medical Cannabis (OMC) then sends you an email with a link to the online application and portal. Ninety days after it is issued, your certificate loses its validity. Since approval could take up to 30 days after receiving certification, you must apply for the card within 60 days.
You can finish the application form, upload your government-issued ID, and pay the application fee after creating your online account.
Patients are not referred to doctors by the OMC. Certifications for the use of medical marijuana are not required from healthcare providers. The Sanctuary Wellness Institute can recommend a qualified medical marijuana physician who will examine you, evaluate your condition, and inform you of cannabis’ potential as a form of treatment.
The application process can then be explained by one of our staff members. We continue to train our staff to make sure they are knowledgeable about the laws and regulations governing medical marijuana so we can help every one of our applicants get approved.
No, the state legislature has repeatedly failed to approve legislation legalizing recreational marijuana. A medical marijuana card will be required in order to purchase any THC-containing products.
Unregulated goods with the names Delta-8 and Delta-9 contain synthetic THC made from hemp plants. They cannot be compared to products of the medical grade. You shouldn’t try to use unregulated products to treat the symptoms of your medical condition.
Flowers, prerolls, vape cartridges, capsules, tinctures, topical gels and creams, water-soluble multi-particulates like granules and powders, orally disintegrating goods like lozenges, and edibles are all legal for Minnesota residents to possess.
Always keep your cannabis in the packaging that proves you used your card to purchase it.
Cannabis-infused drinks and edibles that contain more than 10 mg of THC per serving are prohibited. Additionally, cardholders and their caregivers are not permitted to possess the medical marijuana of other patients. It is illegal to grow marijuana or own marijuana plants.
You are allowed to have a 30-day supply of non-inhalable medical marijuana or up to 2.5 ounces of marijuana flower for smoking.
No. The medical cannabis program in Minnesota is more stringent than those in most other states. As a result, they don’t accept cards from other states and don’t sell recreational marijuana.
You are not allowed to transport marijuana across state lines because it is illegal under federal law. Do not bring your medical marijuana with you if you intend to visit Minnesota. All restrictions and fines imposed by the state on possession will apply to you.
Yes. Despite having a felony, you are still eligible to apply for and receive a patient medical marijuana card. If you have ever been convicted of a felony or another drug offense, you are ineligible to be a patient’s designated caregiver. Applications for caregivers are subject to a background investigation.