Medical Marijuana

Apply for Your Arkansas Medical Marijuana Card

Now Offering Online Evaluation Appointments. No Need to Leave Your Home!

Virtual Appointments are Available

Arkansas Medical Marijuana Card

Medical Marijuana has for a long time been a topic of debate among people across different industries. Few subjects other than medical marijuana elicit more noteworthy responses from policymakers, scientists, researchers, doctors, and the general public.

Over the years, medical marijuana treatment has been proven to help relieve the symptoms of specific ailments as long as the dosage is controlled and the consumption schedule is observed by a doctor. Many patients have testified about the numerous benefits of using medical marijuana, but that hasn’t convinced some disapproving Americans.

Medical Marijuana Doctors in Arkansas
Medical Marijuana Doctors in Arkansas

There are many Arkansas marijuana doctors who offer medical marijuana card evaluations. Here, we will debunk some myths about medical marijuana and describe how you can find a dispensary near you.

We’ll also address some frequently asked questions and provide a guide on how to identify medical marijuana doctors in Arkansas.

What is Medical Marijuana?

Medical marijuana is marijuana that’s used to treat certain medical conditions. Medical and recreational marijuana are the same substance, but medical marijuana is purely for medical assistance. It has over a hundred cannabinoids that can have various effects on the body.

The primary chemicals in medical marijuana are THC (tetrahydrocannabinol) and CBD (cannabidiol). THC is the chemical that makes you “high” during consumption. CBD has been said to be a pain reliever, and it can help with anxiety, insomnia, and even chronic diseases like epilepsy.

Medical marijuana is also a muscle relaxant that can help diminish the tremors of Parkinson’s disease. Fortunately, one cannot overdose on it, and medical marijuana is rarely addictive.

Medical Marijuana Laws in Arkansas

Patients with a physician’s recommendation are allowed to legally obtain and possess medical marijuana from Arkansas state dispensaries. However, patients under 21 years of age are not allowed to consume medical marijuana.

While using medicinal marijuana, you are not allowed to inhale the product within the vicinity of any pregnant women or children under 14 years of age. Marijuana-infused foods or drinks provided by licensed dispensaries are not to contain in excess of 10mg of THC.

Also, home cultivation is not permitted within Arkansas. There are only five cultivators licensed by the Arkansas Medical Marijuana Commission.

Medical Marijuana Laws in Arkansas
Medical Marijuana Laws in Arkansas

Arkansas Medical Marijuana Program

You will need a physician certification form completed by an MD or DO to get accepted into the Arkansas Medical Marijuana Program. That common physician certification form is sufficient if you only need the standard prescription, which is four ounces per month.

However, if you need more, you’ll need to procure the alternative physician certification form. To apply for it, you must submit two other forms that must be completed by different physicians. Then, you’ll need to register online via the Complia application portal.

Once registered, log into the Complia portal and complete your new patient registration. The department will then process your submitted application within 30 days.

How to Find an Arkansas Medical Marijuana Doctor

Patients considering the use of medical marijuana as a treatment option or already using it may find it challenging to broach the topic with their doctor for fear of criticism. Thankfully, doctors who are certified to prescribe this treatment plan are well-versed in the benefits of medical marijuana and accredited dispensaries.

Finding a medical marijuana doctor in Arkansas is pretty straightforward. One can do it via the online portal of marijuana doctors, where you search for a doctor using your zip code. This portal will indicate which service providers possess a medical marijuana certification, and the Arkansas Department of Health (ADH) accredits all providers listed.

Frequently Asked Questions

In order to apply for an Arkansas medical marijuana card, you’ll need to pay a non-refundable application fee of $50 and submit an application. The document should indicate the diagnosis of a condition that qualifies for medical marijuana treatment. A signed Physician Written Certification must accompany the application.

You must be 18 years of age to apply, and parental consent is mandatory for all underage patients. You must also be an Arkansas resident and provide proof of residency. The name and address you provide must match those listed on your state ID and driver’s license.

Some of the conditions that qualify for medical marijuana treatment as per Arkansas law include:

  • Intractable pain
  • Severe nausea
  • Severe arthritis
  • Peripheral neuropathy
  • Positive HIV/AIDS status
  • Tourette’s syndrome
  • Cancer
  • Cachexia or wasting syndrome
  • Multiple sclerosis
  • Fibromyalgia
  • Hepatitis C
  • Ulcerative colitis
  • Alzheimer’s disease
  • Crohn’s disease
  • PTSD (post-traumatic stress disorder)
  • ALS (amyotrophic lateral sclerosis)
  • Glaucoma
  • Persistent muscle spasms
  • Ulcerative colitis
  • Chronic or debilitating disease
  • Any other medical condition that has been approved by the Department of Health

Your medical physician must be an Arkansas-licensed doctor of medicine or osteopathy. They should also have a controlled substances license on file with the DEA.

The physician must be kind and caring in order to strengthen their relationship with the qualifying patient they’re certifying for medical marijuana.

The Arkansas Department of Health will issue you an identification card that remains valid for 12 months from its issue date. However, if your physician has designated a shorter duration for you to use medical marijuana, your ID card will only be valid for the recommended period.

You may apply from out of state if you have a debilitating medical condition that is eligible for medicinal marijuana treatment.

However, you’ll have to fill in the application form for Visiting Patients. You will also need a medical marijuana card that was issued in your home state.

There are many different Arkansas dispensaries for medical marijuana patients in need of cannabis. Here are a few locations where you can find one:

  • Conway
  • Russellville
  • Alexander
  • Little Rock
  • Caddo Valley
  • Hot Springs
  • Clarksville
  • Morrilton
  • Heber Springs
  • Clinton

In the state of Arkansas, you can use medical marijuana in your private residence provided you don’t use the premises for licensed child care or any other social service care. During use, you should not be in close proximity to children under the age of 18.

Conclusion

Confidentiality may be a concern if you’re a medical marijuana novice. But don’t fear–all MDs and dispensaries are obligated by state law to maintain confidentiality for their patients.

Medical cannabis has been proven to relieve innumerable diseases, so as long as you follow your cannabis doctor’s orders and adhere to the appropriate state laws you should be able to enjoy its benefits without risk.